Monday, November 20, 2006

The Buck Stops Here

First came the Sacagawea dollar. Now, ironically, another Native American will be forced out by our founding fathers. The U.S. Mint announced that a new dollar coin will be released in 2007 and will feature US Presidents.

The first coin will carry George Washington and will be released in 2007 along with Adams, Jefferson, and Madison. Four coins will be released each year. George HW Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, and Hillary Clinton's coins all come out in 2017.

Each coin will detail the dates of the President's term and order in which they served.

An inside source at the mint has given me several of the top secret unique features that will come out with each coin:

- The Andrew Johnson coin can be redeemed for 40 acres and a mule.
- Rubbing a British Pound and the James Madison coin will cause the Madison coin to burn.
- Don't rub the Bill Clinton coin.
- The Grover Cleveland coin will be released twice.
- US Mint has already printed a Barack Obama coin.
- The Teddy Roosevelt coin can only be used in North or South America.
- The Howard Taft coin weighs 2 pounds.
- Despite my lobbying, there will not be a President David Palmer coin.
- They kicked me out of the Mint for asking about a President Mackenzie Allen coin.
- William Henry Harrison's coin is a limited edition, only available for 30 days.
- The Jimmy Carter coin will cost you $10 to purchase, but will only be worth 25 cents.

Have other ideas for coin features? Post them in the comments.

Linked on the OTB Traffic Jam