Monday, November 27, 2006

Baseball Hall of Fame 2007 Ballot

The 2007 MLB Hall of Fame ballot includes some dubious characters that most baseball fans wish would just go away. This year three steroid abusers: Ken Caminiti, Jose Canseco, and Mark McGwire are all on the ballot. In 2012 Barry Bonds will be added to that list.

However, I think the Baseball Gods are working to make sure these cheats never make it to the hall. Jose Canseco's name is misspelled on the ballot listed on the website. They have it spelled "Conseco". Mark Maquire and Harry Bonds could not be reached for comment.

To have the "Three Juiced Amigos" on the same list with Lee Smith and Cal Ripken Jr is a disgrace to baseball.

An inside source at the Hall has leaked me an actual copy of this year's ballot that is about to be mailed out to sports writers around the country. Check it out.

Here are the players who will be on the 2007 ballot. I have bolded the ones who I think actually deserve to be on the list:
Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Dante Bichette, Bert Blyleven, Bobby Bonilla, Scott Brosius, Jay Buhner, Ken Caminiti, Jose Canseco, Dave Concepcion, Eric Davis, Andre Dawson, Tony Fernandez, Steve Garvey, Rich Gossage, Tony Gwynn, Orel Hershiser, Tommy John, Wally Joyner, Don Mattingly, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Paul O'Neill, Dave Parker, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken Jr., Bret Saberhagen, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Devon White, and Bobby Witt.